DCI Matilda Darke Thriller - Silent Victim (DCI Matilda Darke Thriller, Book 10): Unabridged edition

By Michael Wood, Read by Stephanie Beattie

He took her voice
She took it back

Don’t miss the next nerve-shredding instalment in the DCI Matilda Darke Thriller series…

A CENSURED DETECTIVE WITH NO LEADS

DCI Matilda Darke and her team have been restricted under special measures after a series of calamitous scandals nearly brought down the South Yorkshire police force.

A BRUTAL ATTACK WITH NO WITNESSES

Now Matilda is on the trail of another murderer, an expert in avoiding detection with no obvious motive but one obvious method.

A DEPRAVED KILLER WHO LEAVES NO TRACES

When his latest victim survives the attack despite her vocal cords being severed, Matilda is more convinced than ever of the guilt of her key suspect. If only she had a way to prove it…

Silent Victim is an unputdownable crime thriller with twists that will make your jaw drop – perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs and Ann Cleeves.

Praise for the DCI Matilda Darke Series:

Tense, twisty, emotional and gripping. Will definitely be reading more from Matilda Darke and this gets a huge 5 stars from me!’ Angela Marsons

‘Matilda Darke is an excellent character’ BA Paris

‘This explosive novel is already making a bang – with reviewers comparing Michael’s work to that of his heroes Val McDermid and James Oswald’ Sheffield Star

‘DCI Matilda Darke is going places’ James Oswald

Crackling dialogue, dark wit and an exciting ending. Recommended if you liked Happy Valley’ Mark Edwards

Budge up Jed Mercurio … when you are done working on Line of Duty I think it is time for you to meet Matilda’ LJ, Read and Rated Book Review Blog

Excellent plotting. The twists keep on coming making this an irresistible read’ Michael J. Malone

‘I really enjoyed getting to know DCI Matilda Darke’ Robert Bryndza

‘DCI Matilda Darke is the perfect heroine’ Elly Griffiths

Format: Digital Audiobook
Release Date: 10 Nov 2022
Pages: None
ISBN: 978-0-00-853561-2
Detailed Edition: Unabridged edition
Michael Wood is a freelance journalist and proofreader living in Newcastle. As a journalist he covered many crime stories throughout Sheffield, gaining first-hand knowledge of police procedure. He also reviews books for CrimeSquad, a website dedicated to crime fiction.

Praise for Michael Wood: -

”'A tense, nail-biting story with a truly twisted ending” - Katerina Diamond

”'An established master of the serial killer novel takes us on another dangerous journey through the streets of Sheffield. Watch out for those twists - you won't see them coming!” - Stephen Booth

”'A gritty and atmospheric thriller with more twists and turns than a hangman's knot. I loved it” - Matt Hilton

”'Solid storytelling and great unravelling of plot. Michael Wood ups the pace as the noose tightens” - Rachel Sargeant

”'Taut, twisting and sharp as a blade, The Hangman’s Hold wrong-footed me at every, devious turn” - Chris Whitaker

”'Wood hit the ground running with For Reasons Unknown, first in the DCI Matilda Darke series. In the fourth instalment, The Hangman's Hold, he picks up the pace again with a twisting plot that races to a nail-biting finish” - Chris Simms

”'Bites into you like the rough twine of a hangman’s noose and refuses to let go. Tautly plotted, brilliantly realised, this is further proof that Michael Wood is only going to get better and better. The Hangman’s Hold is going to be big…” - Neil Broadfoot

Praise for Michael Wood: -

”'You can count on Michael Wood to deliver a deliciously twisted and intriguing plot, leading to a surprise ending by a likeable and very real protagonist, Matilda Darke” - Yrsa Sigurdardottir

”'She is the perfect heroine” - Elly Griffiths

”'A pitch-black concept, tightly delivered and played at exhilarating pace” - Paul Finch

”'Crackling dialogue, dark wit and an exciting ending. Recommended if you liked Happy Valley” - Mark Edwards

”'DCI Matilda Darke is going places” - James Oswald

”'A compelling, addictive read, it’s hard to put down. I really enjoyed getting to know DCI Matilda Darke. She's strong character with real depth” - Robert Bryndza, bestselling author of THE GIRL IN THE ICE

”'A beautifully written book with a dark heart and a secret that impacts on generations” - Sarah Ward